Daily worlds news

Is the number one online media site in USA managed dailyworldsnews Digital Online

Canelo Alvarez vs Jermell Charlo card: Who else is fighting?



It will be undisputed vs undisputed in Las Vegas this weekend, as Saul “Canelo” Alvarez defends his super-middleweight belts against Jermell Charlo.

Canelo, 33, is looking for a third successful title defence in a row, having outpointed John Ryder in May and old rival Gennady Golovkin 12 months ago.

Prior to those victories, the Mexican suffered a points defeat by Dmitry Bivol in a light-heavyweight title fight in May 2022. A week after that bout, Charlo stopped Brian Castano to retain the undisputed super-welterweight titles, after the pair fought to a draw in 2021.

Charlo’s twin brother Jermall was expected to box Canelo here, but the WBC middleweight champion’s two-year absence from the ring continues instead. As such, it is the (minute-)younger of the Americans, 33, who will challenge Canelo.

Here’s all you need to know. We may earn commission from some of the links in this article, but we never allow this to influence our content. This revenue helps to fund journalism across The Independent.

When is the fight?

The fight will take place on Saturday 30 September, at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.

The main card is due to begin at 1am BST on Sunday 1 October (5pm PT, 7pm CT, 8pm ET on Saturday). Ring walks for the main event are then expected at 4am BST on Sunday (8pm PT, 10pm CT, 11pm ET on Saturday).

How can I watch it?

No UK broadcaster has yet been announced for the fight. In the US, it will air on Showtime pay-per-view at a cost of $74.95.

If you’re travelling abroad and want to watch the event, you might need a VPN to unblock your streaming app. Our VPN round-up is here to help and includes deals on VPNs in the market. Viewers using a VPN need to make sure that they comply with any local regulations where they are and also with the terms of their service provider.

Odds

Jermell Charlo (right) during his first fight with Brian Castano

(Getty Images)

Canelo – 30/100

Charlo – 3/1

Draw – 18/1

Full odds via Betway.

Full card (subject to change)

Saul “Canelo” Alvarez (C) vs Jermell Charlo (WBC, WBA, WBO, IBF super-middleweight titles)

Yordenis Ugas vs Mario Barrios (WBC interim welterweight title)

Jesus Alejandro Ramos Jr vs Erickson Lubin (super-welterweight)

Elijah Garcia vs Jose Armando Resendiz (middleweight)

More bouts to be announced.



Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task task