Virginia House Democratic Caucus Announces Additional Leadership Positions

From the VA House Democratic Caucus:


Ward, Simonds, Seibold, Carr and Feggans elected to Leadership Positions

Richmond, VA – The House Democratic Caucus met Tuesday to elect the remaining Caucus Leadership positions. Delegate Jeion Ward will serve as Vice Chair for Operations & Policy and Delegate Shelly Simonds will serve as Vice Chair for Outreach. Delegate Holly Seibold will be Secretary and Delegate Betsy Carr was re-elected Treasurer. Delegate-elect Michael Feggans will serve as Sergeant-at-Arms.

Each officer was elected unanimously by acclamation.

“I am glad to welcome each of the elected and appointed delegates to the House Caucus Leadership,” said Majority Leader-elect Charniele Herring. “In this session, we will have a leadership team that reflects our Caucus and the Commonwealth of Virginia. Our priority is to make the Commonwealth the best place to live, work, and raise a family and I am confident that we can do that with this team.”

Chair Kathy Tran, “I look forward to working with our leadership team to ensure we have a successful Legislative Session and deliver for hardworking Virginia families. Together, our Caucus is committed to defending the rights and freedoms of all Virginians, and moving our Commonwealth forward.”

Delegate Jeion Ward, Vice Chair for Operations & Policy, said, “It’s an honor to serve as Vice Chair. I am excited to work with my colleagues to shape Virginia into a place that is great for workers and businesses.”

Delegate Shelly Simonds, Vice Chair for Outreach, said, “I’ve had some tough campaigns over the years, so I’m excited to recruit new candidates and share what I’ve learned. It’s also a great opportunity to aid our Caucus in communicating all of our legislative successes back to our home communities. I’m grateful to support the work of this talented group of people, especially given everyone’s unique skills and talents.”

“I am proud to serve our Caucus in this capacity, especially under the historic leadership of Speaker-designee Don Scott. I am excited for the next session and the opportunity to continue to support our Caucus as we work to ensure that Virginia is the best place to live, work, and raise a family,” said Delegate Holly Seibold, Secretary.

Delegate Betsy Carr, Treasurer, said, “I’m honored to be re-elected to leadership and thank my colleagues for their confidence in me.  I’m eager to work with the leadership team and the House Democratic Caucus to make a positive difference in Virginians’ lives.”

“I am incredibly grateful for the Caucus’ faith in me to take up this position as we transition into the majority in the House. I look forward to serving in this role and upholding the responsibilities of this office with the respect it deserves, especially under the leadership of Speaker-designee Scott,” said Delegate-elect Michael Feggans, Sergeant-at-Arms.

At the meeting, Delegates Rodney Willett and Destiny LeVere Bolling were appointed Co-Whips of the Caucus. Delegates Elizabeth Bennett-Parker, Phil Hernandez, Kelly Convirs-Fowler, Rozia Henson and Nadarius Clark were appointed Deputy Whips. Last month, the Caucus elected Delegate Don Scott as Speaker-designee, and Delegates Charniele Herring and Kathy Tran as Majority Leader and Caucus Chair. The full House of Delegates will officially vote to confirm a new Speaker on the first day of the 2024 Legislative Session, January 10th.


Sign up for the Blue Virginia weekly newsletter


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *